Album review: The XX

27Jan10

The XX are a British indie pop band.  They are effin good.  I had heard the band’s debut album, which is self-titled, was good, but had no clue what they sounded like.  I went and got the album to give it a listen a couple weeks ago.

Holy crap, it is so good.

The intro song right away grabs you and pulls you into this minimalist indie/pop/soul style.  They have only 2 instruments, sometimes 3 going at once.  Pretty basic stuff: drums, guitar, bass, and some synth beats.  The real key to this album though is the vocals of Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim.  They duel throughout the album, singing harmonies and call/response style with great feeling and an incredible genuine sound.  I felt like they really had some connection as lovers/friends through the album.

This album doesn’t have many twists and turns in style, and stays pretty mellow and soulful from beginning to end.  As I mentioned above, it is very minimalist.  The lyrics are also simple, but in a good way, and there are memorable lines from several songs.  Overall, this was an eye-opening album for me, as I had no idea what this would sound like.  It did appeal to some of my electronic music tastes, but really it isn’t in that vein at all.  If I had to classify them in my way, it would be indie soul.  Stunningly good album, great first listen experience and it continues every subsequent listen.

I’m setting us in stone/piece by piece/before I’m alone

My verdict: 8.0/10

Get this album.

PS:  Still working on how to review albums, so I apologize if this is a bit rough.  Thanks for reading.

2 Responses to “Album review: The XX”

  1. good review, and I really like your bus playlists they are a really cool way to show people some good music

    In the future, on your reviews I would post a music video or a song so that people can listen and read at the same time. This can help people better understand your description of the band and the album.

  2. Quality content is the crucial to be a focus for the people to visit the
    web page, that’s what this web page is providing.


Leave a Reply

